Born 1984 in northern Italy, Virginia Genta is self-taught and plays all saxophones (tenor, soprano, sopranino, baritone, alto), wooden flutes, clarinet, plus some percussion, piano and keyboards. Since 2003 she's been working with drummer and percussionist David Vanzan in several projects such as Jooklo Duo, Neokarma Jooklo Trio (or Sextet, Octet, Experience), Golden Jooklo Age, Jooklo Finnish Quartet, New Jooklo Age, ecc. She started playing music from improvisation while quite young, and has always been moving in the music cosmos with a deep, natural and spontaneous approach to creation, constantly working to find the highest way of expression connected to the oneness of universe. Besides this, the devotion of Virginia finds freedom also through drawing and illustration, infact all the Jooklo records' covers and posters are designed by her. A restless activity during the past few years (about 500 concerts and a countless amount of recording sessions, some of these released on labels like Qbico, Holidays, Conspiracy, and her own Troglosound), brought her to collaborations with musicians from all over the world. She has played concerts in Italy, France, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Germany, Belgium, Holland, Finland, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Russia, UK, USA. In 2009 and 2010 she's also been a music collaborator for the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, having the honour to perform on "Nearly Ninety" together with Takehisa Kosugi and John Paul Jones.


Hartmut Geerken, Famoudou Don Moye, Thurston Moore, Chris Corsano, Paul Flaherty, Bill Nace, Gaetano Liguori, Mette Rasmussen, Riccardo Sinigaglia, Burton Greene, John Blum, Sonic Youth, Takehisa Kosugi, Makoto Kawabata, Sabu Toyozumi, Tamio Shiraishi, John Paul Jones, Geoff Leigh, John Edwards, Sonny Simmons, Daniel Carter, Sabir Mateen, Steve Baczkowski, Stanley j. Zappa, Brandon Lopez, Muruga Booker, Andrew Barker, Charles Waters, Tim Dahl, Tiago Miranda, Loosers, Rui Damaso, Peaking Lights, Chris Pottinger, Axolotl, Stellar Om Source, Aart-Jan Schakenbos, Jacopo Andreini, Embryo, Metabolismus, Filippo Monico, Paolo Botti, Claudio Rocchetti, Guro Moe, Tero Kemppainen, Sami Pekkola, Topias Tiheasalo, Simo Laihonen, Eero Savela, Umut Calgar, Peter Evans, Kevin Shea, Oblivia, Ju Suk Reet Meate, Ninni Morgia, Dylan Nyoukis, Mathias Forge, Jeremie Sauvage, Mathieu Tilly, Ian Gourdon, Seijiro Murayama, Matt Bordin, Movie Star Junkies, Al Doum and the faryds, Ernesto Gonzalez, Simone Trabucchi, Alessandro De Zan, Riccardo Mazza, Ricky Biondetti, Maurizio Abate, Paolo Pascolo, Giorgio Pacorig, Andrea Gulli, Gabriele Cancelli, Chris Zandonella, Francesco Cavaliere, Michele Mazzani, Alessandro Panzavolta, Ortographe, Matteo Poggi, Utat, Eugenio Sanna, Devid Ciampalini, Rodrigo Amado, Hernani Faustino, Dror Feiler, Mats Gustafsson, Erik Oscarsson, Raymond Strid, Mats Aleklint, Johan Berthling, Dag Stiberg, Jon Wesseltoft, Marko Karlovcec, 'Ntoko, Maria Bertel, Johns Lunds, C. Spencer Yeh, Arrington De Dionyso...